Big Blue– 2004

Deeply ambivalent about the idea of art in the 21st century the question that bothers me is why bother? What is the point of painting a landscape or drawing from life ? How does art add value to the human condition? How can the artistic ego be satisfied with the flippant statement that it is art because I am an artist? Can one feel a sense of achievement when the only answer the artist has to the comment”I could have done that” is the infantile cry “yes but I did and you didn’t.
What makes an artist in a world in which every artistic craft can be easily emulated and superseded by machines? Is the machine now also an artist? Is the programmer? Can the copycat claim artist relevance because of a few changes to a work that the originator did not include.
To get no answers to these questions I chopped up a work, which had taken too many hours to produce, into 100 pieces; chose galleries from across the world and shipped off this fragmented work with a whole explanation, just to see what would happen….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Andréhn-Schiptjenko Stockholm www.andrehn-schiptjenko.com
Galerie Anhava Helsinki www.anhava.com/
Arndt & Partner Berlin www.arndt-partner.de/
Gallery Bernier/Eliades Athens www.bernier-eliades.gr/
Peter Blum Gallery, US-New York www.peterblumgallery.com/
Tanya Bonakdar Gallery US-New York www.tanyabonakdargallery.co
Luis Campaña Galerie Köln www.luiscampana.de/
Galerie Gisela Capitain Köln www.galeriecapitain.de
Cheim & Read US-New York www.cheimread.com
Galería Pepe Cobo Madrid www.pepecobo.com/
Galerie Jan Krugier, Ditesheim Genève
Kukje Gallery Seoul www.kukjegallery.com/
Galerie Susanna Kulli Zürich www.susannakulli.ch/
kurimanzutto México D.F. www.kurimanzutto.com/
L.A. Louver US-Venice www.lalouver.com/
Studio la Città Verona
Galerie Gebr. Lehmann Dresden www.galerie-gebr-lehmann.de/
Galerie Lelong Zürich Zürich www.galerie-lelong.com/
Galerie Löhrl Mönchengladbach www.galerieloehrl.de/
Mai 36 Galerie Zürich www.mai36.com/
Matthew Marks Gallery US-New York www.matthewmarks.com/
Marlborough Monaco Monte-Carlo www.marlborough-monaco.com/
Barbara Mathes Gallery US-New York, www.bmathesgallery.com/
Galerie Hans Mayer Düsseldorf www.artnet.com/hmayer.html
Anthony Meier Fine Arts US-San Francisco, www.anthonymeierfinearts.com/
Meyer Riegger Galerie Karlsruhe | www.meyer-riegger.com/
Galeria Millan Antonio BR-São Paulo www.millanantonio.com.br/
Victoria Miro Gallery GB-London www.victoria-miro.com/
Mitchell-Innes & Nash US-New York, www.miandn.com/
The Modern Institute GB-Glasgow www.themoderninstitute.com/
Galerie Vera Munro Hamburg www.veramunro.de/
Galerie nächst St. Stephan Wien www.schwarzwaelder.at/
Galerie Christian Nagel, Köln Köln www.galerie-nagel.de/
Galerie Nelson Paris www.galerie-nelson.com/
Galerie Neu Berlin www.galerieneu.com/
Galleria Franco Noero Torino www.franconoero.com/
Nolan/Eckman US-New York, www.nolaneckman.com/
Galerie Nordenhake Berlin www.nordenhake.com/
Galería OMR México D.F. www.galeriaomr.com/
Galerie Emmanuel Perrotin Paris www.galerieperrotin.com/
Friedrich Petzel Gallery US-New York www.petzel.com/
Galerie Praz-Delavallade Paris www.praz-delavallade.com/
Galerie Eva Presenhuber Zürich www.presenhuber.com/
PRODUZENTENGALERIE Hamburg www.produzentengalerie.com/
Regen Projects US-Los Angeles www.regenprojects.com/
Anthony Reynolds Gallery GB-London www.anthonyreynolds.com/
Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac Salzburg www.ropac.net/
Andrea Rosen Gallery US-New York, www.andrearosengallery.com/
Galerie Köln www.aurelscheibler.com/
Sperone Westwater US-New York www.speronewestwater.com/
SPRÜTH/MAGERS Köln www.monikasprueth.com/
Stampa Basel www.stampa-galerie.ch/
Luisa Strina Galeria BR-São Paulo www.galerialuisastrina.com.br/
Galerie Micheline Szwajcer Antwerpen www.gms.be/
Taka Ishii Gallery JP-Tokyo www.takaishiigallery.com/
Galleria Tega Milano www.clubart.it/
Studio Trisorio Napoli www.studiotrisorio.com/
Galerie Tschudi Glarus www.galerie-tschudi.ch/
Galerie Bob van Orsouw Zürich www.bobvanorsouw.ch/
Waddington Galleries GB-London www.waddington-galleries.com/
Galleri Nicolai Wallner København www.nicolaiwallner.com/
Galerie Fons Welters Amsterdam www.fonswelters.nl/
WHITE CUBE GB-London www.whitecube.com/
Tony Wuethrich Galerie Basel www.tony-wuethrich.com/
XL Gallery Moscow www.xlgallery.ru/
Donald Young Gallery US-Chicago www.donaldyoung.com/
Zeno X Gallery Antwerpen www.zeno-x.com/
David Zwirner US-New York, www.davidzwirner.com/
Cristina Guerra Contemporary Lisboa www.cristinaguerra.com
HAUSER & WIRTH Zürich www.hauserwirth.com
Galerie Max Hetzler Berlin www.maxhetzler.com
Xavier Hufkens Bruxelles www.xavierhufkens.com
Gallery Hyundai Seoul www.galleryhyundai.com
Johnen+Schöttle, Köln www.johnen-schoettle.de
Sean Kelly Gallery US-New York, www.skny.com
Anton Kern Gallery US-New York, www.antonkerngallery.com
Galerie Bernd Klüser München www.galerieklueser.com/
Gallery Koyanagi JP-Tokyo
Galerie Krinzinger Wien www.galerie-krinzinger.at/
Galleria Massimo De Carlo Milano www.massimodecarlo.it/
Galerie Di Meo Paris www.dimeo.fr/
Konrad Fischer Galerie Düsseldorf www.konradfischergalerie.de/
Foksal Gallery Foundation Warsaw www.fgf.com.pl/
Galeria Fortes Vilaça BR-São Paulo www.fortesvilaca.com.br/
Stephen Friedman Gallery GB-London www.stephenfriedman.com/
Gagosian Gallery US-New York, www.gagosian.com/
Galería Elvira González Madrid www.galeriaelviragonzalez.com/
The Goodman Gallery Johannesburg www.goodman-gallery.com/
Galerie Marian Goodman Paris www.mariangoodman.com/
Galerie Bärbel Grässlin Frankfurt am Main www.galerie-graesslin.de/
Richard Gray Gallery US-Chicago, www.richardgraygallery.com
James Cohan Gallery US-New York www.jamescohan.com
Sadie Coles HQ GB-London www.sadiecoles.com
Galleria Continua San Gimignano www.galleriacontinua.com
Corkin Shopland Gallery CA-Toronto www.corkinshopland.com
Galerie Chantal Crousel Paris www.crousel.com
Dabbeni Studio d’arte Lugano www.studiodabbeni.ch/w
Galería Helga de Alvear Madrid www.helgadealvear.net 
Monica De Cardenas Milano www.artnet.com/decardenas.html

 

Comments are closed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑